Goals progress so far

I have made progress on my business goals for 2011! Go Thousand Mile Road!

Firstly, I purchased a camera, the best one I have ever had. My old film camera, Canon EOS  SLR of old, used to be the best but now it is surpassed by a new Canon from the DSLR series. This camera takes by far the clearest photos I have ever seen! Out with the point and shoot I have been using which takes inferior pictures of which I have never been happy with and in with the DSLR (digital single lens reflex). I am still learning about the features (and there are many – the manual is 260 pages!) but once I have conquered the manual and mastered the camera, I reckon life will be pretty sweet on the image front. I am looking forward to putting together a lookbook with a cool theme that professionally showcases the two ranges I have been working so hard on. 100% merino garments for boys and girls.

Along the patterndrafting, sample making road, I have been hard out patterndrafting after refining and honing the larger ranges I designed last year. There are now two compact ranges each comprising of 12 – 15 garments. One range for boys and one range for girls. Although there is scope for mixing and matching. My vision is not frills, pink and diamantes for girls and trucks for boys, as this type of product it can be found in any cut price store that mass produces in China with a ginormous carbon footprint and no care for sustainability or the future of the planet. My range will be unique, wearable and edgy with a theme running through it that appeals to both the children wearing the clothing and the parents who are purchasing it.

For patterndrafting I have set myself a goal of two patterns a day, so all going well and SAHM (stay at home mum) fun and duties aside, I should be done inside 3 weeks! Sample making will happen during and after this so in 3 weeks I will have something to photograph and transform into an amazing lookbook to be put online so all can see what I have been working on. I am soooooo excited to show it to the world!

I am currently having a look at the new 100% merino knit fabric colour swatch card and trying to limit myself to four colours (VERY difficult for me!). I am looking for constructive input, please feel free to make your picks here, always great to hear others opinions and ideas…..

And finally, ‘Go confidently in the direction of your dreams! Live the life you’ve imagined. As you simplify your life, the laws of the universe will be simpler.’ Henry David Thoreau (1817 – 1862)

About Thousand Mile Road

I am a mum and a childrenswear designer. My company is Thousand Mile Road - kids by nature. I design and make natural clothing for children. I am currently using supersoft merino wool and organic cotton. My small collection of garments consists of close fitting long sleeved tops, leggings, singlets, hoodies. Currently working on a summer range and a winter range thinking of both Northern and Southern Hemispheres.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goals progress so far

  1. T says:

    Red, blue, grey and orange.

  2. Thankyou for your input! Love to hear what others think.

Leave a Reply

