On Reaching New Summits

There is something to be said for publicly announcing your goals. It has certainly worked for me.

The knowledge that people are out there and watching my progress, silently cheering me on (however many or few there are) is great motivation. I have not only finished my action plan for my current goals for my business, I have achieved the first major tasks towards goals one, two and six which all involve putting multiple season children’s clothing collections together with a view towards being able to offer the collections as samples and a lookbook to retailers in both Hemispheres (opposing seasons) for order and purchase.

You can view my completed action plan (simple, broken down into measurable tasks) <a href="ACTION PLAN SEP 2010“>here.

The tasks on the action plan can be further broken down into bite sized pieces that can easily be accomplished in a short amount of time. There is a lot of satisfaction to be had in ticking items off the list as you work towards completing the task that they amount to.

If you get a chance to look at the action plan you will discover that I am up to date which is such an awesome feeling. Words cannot describe the accomplishment I felt yesterday afternoon as I completed the designs for the last of my four collections, I was ecstatic, I had reached a major milestone, climbed that first summit on the mountain range, achieving a goal in my career that I had never done before (designing a full collection) and completing a task from start to finish.

Now if you have spent most of your life never quite finishing anything (I still haven’t really figured out why I do this) then you will understand the profound sense of achievement I feel right now. However, this is just the tip of the whole iceberg, there are many more tasks to be completed before the whole project is finished. So onwards and upwards…. no pining over what is lost or what you haven’t achieved, just onwards and upwards, towards the goal.

And from Quote Garden
“Though no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending.” ~Author Unknown

About Thousand Mile Road

I am a mum and a childrenswear designer. My company is Thousand Mile Road - kids by nature. I design and make natural clothing for children. I am currently using supersoft merino wool and organic cotton. My small collection of garments consists of close fitting long sleeved tops, leggings, singlets, hoodies. Currently working on a summer range and a winter range thinking of both Northern and Southern Hemispheres.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

