Accountability

I have long thought that sharing a goal with others helps provide a push, an accountability, to complete that goal. Working alone can be hard, really hard. Noone is with you, providing that natural push that comes with working with a group towards a common goal. There is noone to bounce ideas off, noone to help you meet that impossible deadline you set for yourself. You are it, you only have yourself to blame if you fail.

Flipside, there can be enormous pride that comes with achieving a goal single handedly!

For me, I need that push, that deadline that can’t be pushed back, that motivation to achieve in a timely manner. I need lists, plans, dates, deadlines – these provide part of my motivation, the rest is purely to realise the dream!

So lets say that I wanted to exhibit my Thousand Mile Road natural children’s clothing range at the childrens’ trade fair ‘Bubble London’ on January 30 & 31, 2011. Even though I may not be eligible to exhibit at this tradeshow because I am not currently supplying wholesale to stores, I want to be ready with my Autumn/Winter 2011 (Northern Hemisphere) range AS IF I AM.

As if this isn’t quite enough to commit to, I also want to have my Spring/Summer 2011/2012 (Southern Hemisphere) range completed by January 2011 as well.

Project plan coming shortly….

And for inspiration… ‘The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams’ Eleanor Roosevelt.

About Thousand Mile Road

I am a mum and a childrenswear designer. My company is Thousand Mile Road - kids by nature. I design and make natural clothing for children. I am currently using supersoft merino wool and organic cotton. My small collection of garments consists of close fitting long sleeved tops, leggings, singlets, hoodies. Currently working on a summer range and a winter range thinking of both Northern and Southern Hemispheres.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment