Welcome to Thousand Mile Road – kids by nature!

Hi,

I am a mum and a childrenswear designer, but this is not a comprehensive summary of the many facets of me! This blog will revolve around my business and items related to it. My company is Thousand Mile Road – kids by nature. I design and make clothing out of natural fabrics for children. The business is currently in it’s start-up stages. At the moment I am using supersoft merino wool and organic cotton to make a small collection of garments consisting of close fitting long sleeved tops, leggings, singlets, hoodies. I am currently working on a summer range and a winter range thinking of both Northern and Southern Hemispheres.

The intention of this blog is to take you with me on the journey of a thousand miles…starting a business from scratch with minimal cash and resources, a dream slowly growing and transforming into reality. I will share tips, links to great blogs and websites with advice, information and products that I have found invaluable, inspirational and motivating. My hope is that you find something here that will inspire you, whether you have your own business or not. Maybe you will find just what you have been looking for…

My aim is to keep the posts shorter rather than long winded, because if you are anything like me, you probably follow in excess of 20!

Although I am really motivated to succeed, I constantly find that order,  in the context of achieving goals in my business (i.e. putting together a summer clothing range) , is extremely overwhelming and leaves me in an almost constant state of confusion, the consequences of which can be disastrous! I don’t actually achieve very much at all!

So shortly I will be publicly setting myself some real goals with real time limits so that I can escape from the creative confusion of infinite idea syndrome and start traversing a successful path of completing tasks in an orderly and timely fashion with design results that are not only stunningly unique and creative but also actively portraying my ideas and talent. I will accompany posts with relevant visual stimulation, please feel free to comment, I welcome all positive ideas, suggestions and dare I say it, criticisms!

Finishing with this wonderful quote which my sister showed me years ago!

“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes.”  Marcel Proust.

About Thousand Mile Road

I am a mum and a childrenswear designer. My company is Thousand Mile Road - kids by nature. I design and make natural clothing for children. I am currently using supersoft merino wool and organic cotton. My small collection of garments consists of close fitting long sleeved tops, leggings, singlets, hoodies. Currently working on a summer range and a winter range thinking of both Northern and Southern Hemispheres.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

